Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: New-to-Me Authors Discovered in 2023

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This week’s topic:

New to me authors that I discovered in 2023! I have kept this list to authors with book I read, that I rated 4 or 5 stars. Interestingly, four of the ten were on my top 10 reads for 2023!

I have added links to the reviews for the books I have reviewed so far – just click on the book names with links!


1. Jen St Jude – If Tomorrow Never Comes

I was introduced to Jen St Jude through a book tour for If Tomorrow Never Comes- their writing spoke to me, with If Tomorrow Never Comes a book full of hope, even in the most devastating circumstances. One that more need to read. I look forward to seeing what Jen has in store for us next.

2. Helen Steadman – God of Fire

Again, like 1, I was introduced to Helen Steadman through the book tour for God of Fire. I absolutely love Greek mythology so it was a no brainer to sign up. Helen Steadman has this talent for weaving multiple myths and legends together, preserving their accuracy, whilst introducing you to a God that isn’t really spoken much about. I definitely need more!

3. Stephen Ronson – The Last Line

One of my top 10 favourite reads of 2023! Stephen reached out to me and asked if I’d like to read and review The Last Line prior to publication, and I am so glad I agreed. As I highlighted in my review, this is a well-written and undoubtedly well-researched authentic thriller that immerses you straight into the setting, with extremely descriptive passages that really help you to envisage exactly what the author wants you to see. I cannot wait to see what is next for this brilliant author!

4. Jane Fulton – 30 Reasons to Swipe Left

Another of my top 10 reads of 2023, I don’t think I have laughed reading a book as much as I did with 30 Reasons to Swipe Left. Yet again introductions came through a book tour, and the Jane’s very relaxed, conversational tone whilst sharing her weirdest and most disastrous dates with us all makes this book what it is!

5. John Brownlow – Assassin Eighteen

I seems to do so many book tours last year, and this was yet another incredible read that introduced me to to high octane writing of John Brownlow. John has written a superb thriller that brought out all of the stops and I definitely now need to go back and read Assassin Seventeen.

6. Rebecca Yarros – Fourth Wing

Top 10 read yet again – this book has me gripped!!!! I have a new favourite author, way too many favourite quotes, and a new favourite series (with only one book so far!), and I could keep talking forever about how much I adored this book. The writing and the power in this book was just incredible!

7. Simon Toyne – Dark Objects

Review still to come but I was introduced to Simon Toyne by the Slaughterfest event last year! I bought this book on a whim, after Simon retweeted and commented on one of my tweets. I was definitely not disappointed and this is a thriller I would recommend to all thriller lovers.

8. John Scalzi – Starter Villain

What a brilliant take on a fantasy/thriller! With fantasy elements, this thriller throws us into the deep end, with our main character finding himself inheriting the title of “evil villain”, hilariously trying to learn the ropes whilst trying to avoid ending up murdered!

9. Alexa Hagerty – Still Life With Bones

This book was brutal, haunting and a very heavy read. The author tells the reader her experience of Guatemala and uncovering bodies and mass-graves years after the genocide. Alexa handles this topic with sensitivity, whilst still sharing her experiences and the firsthand experiences of others.

10. Bonnie Garmus – Lessons in Chemistry

It took me a while to get into Lessons in Chemistry, but I am glad I did. I met Bonnie Garmus at the end of 2022, and was fortunate to get a signed copy with these gorgeous sprayed edges! Bonnie was so lovely, but I didn’t manage to get to the book until later in 2023! A brilliantly written read exploring feminism in 1950-60s.


I’m excited to discover more authors in 2024!

What authors were new to you in 2023?

Let me know in the comments!

Charlotte x

Leave a comment